Review: Deja Dead

Déjà Dead (Temperance Brennan, #1)Déjà Dead by Kathy Reichs

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was hopeful that this book would be as good as the Bones television series, since this is what it was based upon. I was not impressed. Aside from the dated references throughout (it takes place in 1994 – digital records were just taking off, people were still using pagers, and no one had cell phones), the story line as a whole wasn’t too bad. The continuous cursing throughout was a big turnoff, especially when listening to the audiobook version. Yes, I get that authors will frequently use cursing in their characters’ dialogue and such, but my goodness, can you not come up with any alternative adjectives than those? That is just lazy writing, in my opinion. I have many of Reichs’ other books, but based on my disappointment with this one, I may forgo the rest of her series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

