May <3 List

Sadly, I haven’t been very active on here. I’m hoping to make a positive change by posting at least once a month. I will start by posting a list of things I’m loving on each month. Without further ado…May:

may-list

PLAYLIST

  1. You Make Me Feel So Young Michael Bublé
  2. To Love Somebody – Michael Bublé
  3. Close Your Eyes – Michael Bublé
  4. To Be Loved – Michael Bublé
  5. Young At Heart – Michael Bublé
  6. Let The RoadRixton
  7. Storyteller Morgan Harper Nichols (feat. Jamie Grace)
  8. Go Hard or Go Home Wiz Khalifa and Iggy Azalea
  9. They Can’t Take That Away From Me – Jimmy Dorsey
  10. Moonlight Serenade – Glenn Miller

Listen to playlist

Why?

I got myself Michael Bublé’s latest CD for my birthday last month. I don’t think I’ve ever heard an album of his that I haven’t enjoyed. This one didn’t disappoint. The five songs listed are the ones I continually put on repeat. I really cannot wait to see him in concert again.

Michael-Buble


I discovered Rixton on the Today show a couple months ago. They are very reminiscent of 98* (remember Nick Lachey and the rest of those guys?). Lovely a capella tones with just a bit of percussion mixed in for a perfect balance.

rixton   98_Degrees_-_Revelation_-_Front


Morgan Harper Nichols is a breakout artist that I heard on a local radio station a few weeks ago. The lyrics are amazing. And her voice… I can’t even describe how amazing it is. And no wonder I fell in love with it; Nichols is the older sister of Jamie Grace, who performs background vocals on the track. If you get a chance, watch the official music video; it’s pretty powerful. I won’t lie, it brings me to tears every time I watch it.


Go Hard or Go Home is a track from the Furious 7 movie. Not only is the movie spectacular, edge-of-your-seat action, but it is emotional as well, since this was Paul Walker’s final hurrah. They producers and co-stars did his legacy justice. This song, just epitomizes that beautiful relationship that was shared amongst Vin Diesel and Walker and their characters over the years. furious-7


Of course my list wouldn’t be complete without some Big Band. Jimmy Dorsey and Glenn Miller are two of the most notable big band directors of their day. Moonlight Serenade, all-time-favorite of that era. Plus it reminds me of Rose and Nine from Series 1 of Doctor Who, and the book I’ve been writing (rewriting) for the last few years. Rose and 9


COFFEE

Ethiopian…fruity, caramel-butterscotch, floral type of flavors.

In my Doctor Who mug.

20150407_085715  20150406_154554


READING

I’m a multi-tasking reader, as you can see. I’ve got probably twice as many on my nightstand and coffee table, but these are my active reads.

homer  sparks  compass

Homer’s Odyssey is about a blind domestic cat who overcame physical challenges he faced during his life, from the time he was found on a street battered and worse-for-wear, to having to navigate through the many places he lived as a blind pet. It is written by the lady who rescued him, but ultimately, he rescued her. Heart-wrenchingly wonderful. I’m about half-way through it.

The People of Sparks is book two of The City of Ember series. I read the first book for my Children’s Literature class and absolutely loved it. It ended on a cliff-hanger, so I can’t just leave the rest of the series unread. I must know if they the city is able to be rescued from their life of darkness.

The Golden Compass was for my Children’s Lit class also, on the topic of censorship and controversial texts. It would never have been my first or second choice to read this, mainly because of the heretic controversy surrounding it. It is a book laden with concerning subject manner: violence against children, general violence (one fight scene at the end…oy vey!), not to mention the anti-religious message. After doing some research for a paper, it turns out the author is atheist, which makes sense why it was heavy on the anti-religion. As soon as I read the last page, my jaw had dropped open because I just couldn’t fathom the ending. Cliff-hanger, of course, as well. But it is part of a series, and I have to know if Lyra ever finds what she’s looking for. Merely for educational purposes. I would not recommend this for any child to read due to the violent nature of the story.


TELEVISION PLOT-LINE

The relationship between Sr. and Jr. DiNozzos on NCIS. If you’ve watched much of this season, you’ve gathered a shift in their relationship. Sr. DiNozzo so wants the approval and acceptance of his son, yet Tony is plagued by memories of his father’s past failures and disappointments as a parent. It’s been interesting to see a somewhat friendship unfold between Sr. and Gibbs, however, making the elder DiNozzo seem more human and vulnerable, causing Tony to see him in a different light. DiNozzos


OTHER LOVELIES

This is a painting of Gallifrey I would love to attempt. I have no idea who originally painted it; I just came across it on Facebook one day and saved it for future enjoyment.

gallifrey

Leave a Reply

