NaNoWriMo Madness (National Novel Writing Month)

At the many months of insistence from my good friend Saz, I have decided to enter the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) contest. For those of you who haven’t heard of this crazydeathsentence competition, it is a mad dash to write a 50,000 word novel in a month. So I am committing to this first-time experience that commences on November 1.

I have to admit I’m a bit nervous, but more excited than anything. I’ve developed an outline to write by (again, another first), as well as a writing playlist (I seem to write better with music guiding my Muse).

I suppose what makes me nervous, is that this is going to be an original piece, with original characters that have only thus far lived in existence in my imagination. Writing this means not only putting myself out there for criticism, but also my beloved characters. Part of me doesn’t want to do that. Part of me wants to protect those characters from the inevitable flames that are bound to lash out at them. But the rational and adventurous part if me does want them to be out there, showing everyone their story, whether liked or not.

That being said, I need some help with my main character. Let me introduce you to Ian.  Ian is an anthropologist, and his passion is discovering and immersing himself in new cultures.  A Peruvian tribe seems to be his latest find. Ian is Scottish, but had the privilege of attending Oxford, something not too common of his age and status in the early 1900s.  The problem I’m having with Ian, is I don’t know what his last name is! I am having the most difficult time deciding.  So you as my reader, friend, family, or tweep, can help me by voting below for the name that strikes you the most aesthetically pleasing for dear Ian.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Madness (National Novel Writing Month)

  1. If your main problem is the main character’s last name, then you’re in good shape! What’s your nano username? I’m a fellow Christian writer always looking for more of the same. My user name is Tim Ward. Hope your last week of nano is going well!
    Tim (www.timothycward.com)

    • Hello Tim! If only the name thing was the most complicated thing! Haha! I’ve learned so much along this journey. Like, I really need to read a lot of different genres to get a hold on how different situations pan out. But I’ve certainly got a good draft at least. The revision process will be interesting, and will hopefully flesh out the holes that I know are there, and haven’t dealt with yet.
      My Nano user name is puritymatters.

Leave a Reply

