Day 05 — Your favorite quote

Day 05 — Your favorite quote

These topic starters are really making me think!  My favorite quote.  I don’t think I can narrow it down to just one, as with all the previous “favorites” I’ve listed.  So let me just tell you about some of my favorite quotations.

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” Matthew 28:19-20a.  This is our calling as children of the Most High God.  Jesus is the one talking here, telling us what it is that we are to do now that we are co-heirs with Him in glory.  What I like about this scripture is that he isn’t talking just to His disciples, but to those who have yet to be born.  “…go and make disciples of all nations.”  Not…”Preachers, go and make disciples…” or “Missionaries, go and make disciples…” or even “Religious people, go and make disciples…”.  Simply “…GO AND MAKE DISCIPLES OF ALL NATIONS.”  To me that means all of us who have accepted Him as our Savior King.  We’ve been given this amazing gift of freedom, love, riches in glory, why wouldn’t we want to go and tell everyone about this and help them to come to know all this and more as well?

Another favorite quote, or more appropriately scripture, is “(The LORD) Who satisfies your mouth [your necessity and desire at your personal age and situation] with good so that your youth, renewed, is like the eagle’s [strong, overcoming, soaring]!” Psalm 103:5 (The Amplified Version).  This has been a favorite of mine for a couple of years.  This is like a personal letter from God to me.  He’s telling me that no matter how old I am or what my current life situation may be, He will satisfy me in all areas that I feel like I’m lacking .  Like right now, I’m 29, and single, and the deepest desire of my heart is to marry a man of God who meets all my “requirements”.  I get lonely often, because I’m not there yet.  And even in my loneliest, darkest times, His Spirit speaks comfort to my heart, letting me know that He’s got me.  And that my desires (of which He’s placed in my heart) will be fulfilled in His time, always on time, and never late.  And I’m sure a few years down the road when I am finally married to “the one”, I will be desiring children.  And again at that time, the Lord will again satisfy the desires of my heart and send comfort until He fulfills those desires.  So because I believe this with strong certainty, I will be young in spirit and even physically.  I don’t feel my age, and I don’t even think I look my age.  I contribute that to this verse.  I believe that this gives me strength to overcome and have faith for anything.

My final favorite is a combination of two scriptures from Proverbs: “for wisdom is more precious than rubies, and nothing you desire can compare with her”, Proverbs 8:11 and Proverbs 31:10 “Who can find a virtuous wife? For her worth is far above rubies.”   The fact that the writer of this book used fine gems, rubies, to compare to wisdom and a wife are two very important aspects.  I think it means that the writer wanted to convey that for a man to have wisdom and to have a virtuous wife is an extremely valuable gift.  He says about wisdom “nothing you can desire can compare with her”.  A man should not desire anything more in life than wisdom or a wife whose “worth is far above rubies”.  It shows how valuable God holds wisdom and women.

Leave a Reply

